Choose Your Topping

Yesterday, in the Southern Cuisine post I displayed candied yams which are scrumptious and sweet. Rather souffled or candied; people top yams with pineapples or marshmallows. Today I decided to show you a great way to cut calories, be more health conscious and still add some sweetness and fun to this staple of the Southern Cuisine. I baked a sweet potato with its skin in the oven. Sweet potatoes are high in Vitamin C, Vitamin A, potassium and beta-carotene which is an antioxidant which helps in treating and preventing cancer, and converts into Vitamin A once in the body. Both are good for the skin, improve eyesight, and boosts immunity.  Beta-carotene combats free radicals which result in skin aging.  My recipe for candied yams calls for the skin to be peeled off. However, sweet potatoes with the skin have additional nutrients besides Vitamin E, Vitamin C, and folate.  Baking sweet potatoes with their skin has more fiber than a serving of oatmeal and it is also rich in iron. Instead of using butter and pineapples, I topped it with Cool Whip and sprinkled some cinnamon over it. It was delicious. I thought it might be helpful if I show you the differences in calories in 2 tablespoons of Cool Whip and  1 cup of mini-marshmallows.

sweet-potatoe

 

cool-whip-caloriesmarsmallows-cal

Okay, I went a little overboard with the Cool Whip on my yam, but it was a holiday.

10 thoughts on “Choose Your Topping

  1. Yams look good . Still like candied yams with pineapple and the beauty of same . However I only eat them once a year and I will try your recipe this year for a big holiday treat.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow!I wouldn’t think that adding Cool Whip would be less fattening than adding marshmallow. Amazing how you learn something new everyday.I like to make to make homemade whip cream when I want to add it to a treat.I wonder if Cool Whip would still be less,or more fattening than homemade whip cream?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow!I wouldn’t think that adding Cool Whip would be less fattening than adding marshmallow. Amazing how you learn something new everyday.I like to make homemade whip cream when I want to add it to a treat.I wonder if Cool Whip would still be less,or more fattening than homemade whip cream?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Adding Cool Whip to sweet potatoes sounds absolutely wonderful and at the same time less fattening than adding marshmallow. I can’t wait to try it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

