Drunken Spicy Shrimp

 

Drunken Shrimp

Thanks to restauranteur John Stage of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que that I can feature his recipe for Big Game parties. (Serves 6 to 8)

Ingredients:

  • 2lb large shelled shrimp
  • 2 bottles (12oz) beer
  • 1/2 cup cider vinegar
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 Tbsp Old Bay Seasoning
  • 2 Tbsp Creole seasoning
  • 2 Tbsp minced garlic

Preparation:

  • Pour beer, vinegar & water into a high-sided pan.  Add the Old Bay, cover and cook on high heat.
  • When it boils rapidly, add shrimp.  Cover & cook foe 2 minutes, or until the shrimp turn pink & the flesh is opaque.
  • Drain shrimp in a colander & cover with a layer of ice to chill them just enough to stop cooking.
  • Throw shrimp into a bowl & toss with garlic and Creole seasoning.

 

Brazen Cocktail Sauce:

  • 2 cups barbecue sauce
  • 1 cup horseradish
  • 2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp Tabasco sauce
  • Juice of 1/4 lime
  • Juice of 1/4 lemon

Mix all sauce ingredients in a small bowl until blended, serve with shrimp.

10 thoughts on “Drunken Spicy Shrimp

  1. Wow!I just tried this recipe, minus the heat and with tartar sauce,all I can say is wow! I really enjoy eating shrimps alot,so I’m always game to eat different flavorful kinds.

    Like

    1. FoodSoGood I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe. I also make my own tartar sauce. I’m going to post it soon. It’s simple. Perhaps you can tell me if you make yours differently. Look out for it soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

