Fried Green Tomatoes

My uncle shipped us fresh vegetables from his farm. There’s nothing more organic than when you’re related to the farmer who mails the box personally to your door.  He sent squash, green peppers, hot peppers, corn on the cob and green tomatoes.  At midnight last night my mother fried the tomatoes and we dined until her hearts content. I can’t remember having tasted anything more tasty.  The consistency of the tomatoes after coming out of the hot oil was impressive. I asked my mother why weren’t they mushy as I expected. Her secret was that she deep fried them in oil once it was very hot and coated them in a mixture of cornmeal and flour.

 

6 thoughts on “Fried Green Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

